Tribunal Composition

The Tribunal comprises a chairperson and six members appointed by the Minister for Racing and Gaming.

A panel of three members is required if the appeal is against a penalty of more than three months suspension or disqualification, a warning-off and/or a fine exceeding $2,000.

All other appeals may be heard by the chairperson or a presiding member sitting alone.

RPAT Chairperson and Members

Ms Karen FARLEY SC (Chairperson)

  • Was appointed to the panel of the Tribunal in March 1997.
  • Is a senior appeal consultant at Legal Aid WA and has served on several boards and committees including Criminal Lawyers Association, Childcare Services Board and Boards of visitors to Heathcote and Alma St Centre.
  • In December 2013, Ms Farley was appointed Senior Counsel in and for the State of Western Australia.
  • Is a member of the Criminal Law Committee of the Law Society and Legal Practice Board.
  • Is a Councillor of Peppermint Grove Shire.

Mr Patrick HOGAN

  • Is an inaugural member of the panel of the Tribunal.
  • Is a barrister admitted to the Supreme Court of Western Australia and High Court of Australia in June 1982 and currently works in private practice as a Barrister from Howard Chambers.
  • Is appointed as a part-time Magistrate of the Children’s Court of Western Australia since September 1999.
  • Was appointed president of the Gender Reassignment Board of Western Australia in 2007.


  • Appointed to the panel of the Tribunal in February 1997.
  • Admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in December 1990.
  • Since July 2000 has worked as a barrister practicing in Criminal Law, Administrative Law and Military Discipline Law.
  • In October 2011 he established Quarry Chambers (his current law chambers).
  • Since April 1997 has been a member of Australian Defence Force as a Legal Officer in the RAAF Specialist Reserve (currently holds the rank of Squadron Leader).
  • Has attained the following qualifications from the University of Western Australia – Bachelor of Jurisprudence, Bachelor of Laws, Bachelor of Economics and a Master of Laws.

Mr Robert NASH

  • Was appointed to the panel of the Tribunal in March 1997.
  • Is a barrister admitted as Practitioner of Supreme Court of WA and of the High Court of Australia.
  • Is a general public notary and has served on many councils, committees and directorships.
  • Is Chairman of a public company and Head of the WA Navy Legal Panel


  • Appointed to the panel of the Tribunal in March 2018.
  • Admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in March 2006 and the High Court of Australia in 2010.
  • Currently practices as a barrister from Sir Clifford Grant Chambers
  • Has served on many Boards and Committees including as a member of Senate University of WA, President Australian Institute of Management WA, commissioner Legal Aid Commission WA and director Keystart Loans Ltd.
  • Currently serves on the Metropolitan Cemeteries Board and as a Trustee of Graduate Women WA Education Trust inc.
  • Prior to her legal career, Ms Robbins held CEO and senior executive positions in a number of Government agencies.
  • Holds the following qualifications: BA (Econs) University of Western Australia; Juris Doctor (High Dist.). University of Notre Dame; Graduate Certificate in Australian Migration Law and Practice, Murdoch University.


  • Admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of WA in 2005;
  • Director of Hills Hope Legal established in 2013;
  • Practices primarily in family law;
  • Member of the Family Law Practitioners Association WA, Family Law Section of the Law Council Australia, International Academy of Collaborative Professionals and Collaborative Professionals WA;
  • Accredited Collaborative Professional;
  • Owned horses most of her life and studied horsemanship for over 10 years.

Last Updated: 18/07/2022 14:42:32 PM